Reverse Culture Shock

The stages of reverse culture shock as according to studentsabroad.com:

  1. Disengagement
  2. Initial euphoria
  3. Irritability and hostility
  4. Readjustment and adaptation

I keep playing hopscotch on stages 1, 2, and 3. I feel overwhelmed, alienated, but at the same time I can’t stand to be alone. Other days I feel fantastic.

It’s an odd entity hovering around me 24/7. I’ve experienced this when I went overseas before, but this is by far the most extreme case. Please, don’t be alarmed. I love traveling; it’s challenges can never outweigh its blessings.

I wouldn’t trade reverse culture shock for anything in the world, because the memories, experiences, and lessons that have come along with it are incomparable.

I have no idea why I’m even writing this post right now. All of this is just word vomit.

Friends, I just wanted to let you know that I’m having a hard time readjusting. Please keep me in your prayers.

I’m still trying to find the sweet spot of not abandoning the culture I was with, while still appreciating the culture I’m a part of now.

With love,
Rose

Leave a Reply

