Beautiful Things

In Thailand I’ve seen a collection of beautiful things, whether outside or inside of the classroom. Yesterday, I experienced beauty that words are not able to capture, so I’ve decided to communicate it through images.

My students and I were working on pronouncing L & R; these sounds are two of the most difficult for Thai speakers to distinguish between.

We spent time working on those sounds for the beginning of class, but I noticed that it was becoming very difficult, so we moved on to another segment of the lesson. As a closing I decided to review the L & R sounds one more time.

It was as if they were graced with the miraculous gift of language because they pronounced those L & R sounds like pros. Seriously, it was a night and day improvement.

I was so proud.

Usually I’m vocally encouraging with my students, but the improvement that they made knocked the wind of of me.

I was only able to whisper, “Girls, that was beautiful. I am proud.”

I know it may not make much sense when I say I found their pronunciation beautiful, so enjoy the pictures below. Hopefully, they are successful at expressing the beauty that filled the classroom when my students pronounced lamp and ramp correctly.

IMG_0350IMG_0417IMG_0553IMG_0548

It sounded like that.

 

 

 

*I’m only a volunteer. I’m not getting paid.

Leave a Reply

