Soak Up the Sun

IMG_1203

We had a pool day. Surprisingly, I went reluctantly. I didn’t want to waste too much time having fun when I could’ve been doing work, also I was supposed to meet with a friend later in the day and didn’t think I would have enough time to do TWO fun things.

In short, I was being kind of ridiculous. I ended up going and bringing my homework.

When we arrived at the pool I decided to “swim” (doggy paddle) first for a few minutes, then get to the task at hand which was to do my homework. As soon as my feet touched the water my responsibilities sank.

Instead of doing homework I received “swimming lessons” from Max (which involved him swimming and me watching), ate my weight in Pizza, and had photo shoot with the girls.

IMG_1223

It was incredibly relaxing, and well needed. It’s easy to get in the habit of doing, doing, doing, especially when it feels like that’s what you’re supposed to do.

But being here in Thailand isn’t all about doing, it’s about living life in Thailand. And to live life is to know when to give yourself a well deserved break.

I’m so thankful that the Father doesn’t threaten to smite me when I deep my toes into a pool for a little while 😉 In fact, I believe He encourages it.

IMG_1213

Take a break today!

P.S. I did pick up my book once, but then a sweet little girl encouraged me to eat flowers with her. I took it as a sign: STOP AND SMELL THE ROSES, or in this case, TASTE THEM.

2 thoughts on “Soak Up the Sun

  1. Rest is an important component of a godly life and critical to a missionary’s call. The risk of failure increases significantly for missionaries who do not build rest and restoration time into their schedule. You’ve done well to take some time to swim…even doggy paddle swimming…and eating flowers every now and then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

