Proud Feminist

Sometimes I care a little too much about what others think of me, holding back my honest views and beliefs so that others continue to… well, like me.

It’s pathetic.

giphy

I AM A FEMINIST and have been so afraid of injecting such a bold statement onto social media platforms for the sake of protecting image. A lot of people, and I’m mainly talking about my fellow believers, think they have feminism all figured out because of what a few people do or believe. Well, not all feminists are alike. I’m not running around without a bra and war paint yelling “UTERUS!”

maxresdefault

When I hear women, WOMEN, ridicule feminism it kills me every time because they don’t see the irony in what they’re doing– they’re using their voice, the same voice past FEMINISTS fought hard to give them in the first place, to then ridicule feminists.

Let’s be clear on the true heartbeat of feminism:

It is “the theory of the political, economic, and social equality of the sexes,” or in other words, “the belief that men and women should have equal rights and opportunities.”

d240ba13-acb3-4034-8491-a2addd43784b

FEMINISM IS AN OUTCRY FOR EQUALITY because both sexes are created equal and have been endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable rights including life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness ( US Declaration of Independence, just in case you forgot).

Women being abused at an astounding rate, meanwhile society still has the nerve to ask well, what was she wearing? doesn’t sound like life to me.

traff2

Women not receiving equal pay or not being able to get a proper education doesn’t sound like liberty to me.

3043c77

Women being put in a box and then criticized by society for their performance in that box doesn’t sound like happiness to me.

1382151988043

Sojourner Truth, a feminist, once questioned, “Ain’t I a woman?”
I’d love for every Woman and Man from every nation, tribe, and tongue to extend this question: “Ain’t I/she a human?”

Women take part in a protest against Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump in Chicago

The answer should always be a resounding YES!, but somewhere along the line of existence forgetfulness contaminated the waters:

what
massacre
happens to my son
between
him
living within my skin.
drinking my cells.
my water.
my organs.
and
his soft psyche turning
cruel.
does he not remember
he
is half woman.

from Nayyirah Waheed.

Over the past several hours my emotions have been tumbled and twirled by others’ comments and news reports: I’m in disgust one moment, then find myself in awe in the next; disappointed, then proud; hopeless, then find myself being whisked away in the strong wind of hope.

I may not agree with every feminist’s personal point of view, but I do agree with the heartbeat of feminism. So, I’m proud to be a feminist! I can’t help but to think of the long history of women that came before me, and the smiles that must be on their faces right now.

I can practically hear them screaming from the top of their lungs: WOMEN OF THE WORLD, THANK YOU FOR UNITING!

https3a2f2fblueprint-api-production-s3-amazonaws-com2fuploads2fcard2fimage2f3570302f0aa8f650-7a23-46c5-831f-28bba7ccdd16

maxresdefault1

I march and will continue to march because I know we, Women, are all made in One Magnificent Image…

Leave a Reply

